Home News Results Calendar Races Safety Photos Juniors Options Contact
Origins of SHR
With acknowledgements to Denis Bell and his archives
The Scottish Hill Runners Association (SHRA) was conceived in the back of a car after a road race in Glasgow in January 1983 by the founding members (Roger Boswell, Colin Donnelly, Dick Wall and Robin Morris) all of whom are still to this day much involved in our sport.

The first formal meeting took place following the Carnethy Five Hill Race at Penicuik in February 1983 and Mel Edwards of Aberdeen was elected as chairperson and Robin Morris as secretary.

The main aims were to organise a worthwhile Scottish championship and to produce a Scottish calendar (Robin Morris still has copies of every one). Robin won the first men's championship and this was sponsored by Tiso, the great Outdoor Specialist. The championship was based on 15 A category races selected from the 25 listed in the first calendar. Prior to completion of that season's chyampionship, the SHR received a letter of complaint from the Scottish Amateur Athletics Association (the SAAA – the men's governing body) which stated that we did not have the right to organise a championship or call it such!

SHRA affiliated to the SAAA and Robin Morris was elected to their General Committee the following year. Thus began our sometimes turbulent involvement with "Scottish Athletics".

Stalwarts were Dick Wall (Chair), Robin L Morris (Secretary), Andy & Ann Curtis, Peter Brooks, Keith Burns (FRA Scotland Representative), Roger Blamire, Andy Spenceley (Treasurer) and Tony Stapeley (Accounts). In 1986 the membership was 160, and subs were £1.

1986 was the second year of the World Mountain Running Trophy. Held in Italy, our guys were Jack Maitland, Mike Lindsay, Dermot McGonigle, Ross Hope and Colin Donnelly. Personal invitations were sent by Robin Morris to a worthy, select band of hill-runners to do an Arthur’s Seat hill demonstration race incorporated with the Commonwealth games at Meadowbank. Jimmy Saville competed. Dick Wall was the Chairman and he voiced his future vision as:

"My own opinion is that we have an important job in NOT doing things such as creating a bureaucracy adopting frivolous rules and any other things which might spoil a sport in which friendly competitiveness in beautiful surroundings is the general rule . It's up to us as runners to maintain this spirit."

The first Official Newsletter appeared in February 1987 (though concurrently there was an "alternative view", memorably entitled "Booze n Trouble"). Alan Farningham as secretary was the "Newsletters Man". Robin Morris was the enduring energy/secretary. There were 57 races in the calendar.

Championship contenders that year included Andy Curtis, Gifford Kerr, Peter Fettes, Christines Whalley (now Patterson) & Menhennet in the ladies, and the McKendrick boys from Irvine in the junior section.
1 2 3 4 5
ProTay - Timing & Events
Website & database update
New website prov. update doc.
Join the SHR
SiEntries link
About SHR
What we do
Fancy that...?
... check
Am Bodach
Ramsay's winter Q&A
Next Races
Kaim Hill Race 17 Apr
Newtyle Hill 17 Apr
Dumyat Junior Races 21 Apr
Inter-Counties Fell Running Championship 21 Apr
Beinn Dubh 24 Apr
Three Peaks Race 27 Apr
SHR Championship
SHR Under 23
Bog & Burn
Scottish Long Classics
Scottish Athletics
British Championship
Pre-2006 Results
Pre-2006 Results
Long Distance Running
Long Distance Records
AGM minutes
AGM minutes 2010-2021